Ireland team to face Argentina announced

Joe Schmidt has announced his squad to take on Argentina on Sunday afternoon.

Jamie Heaslip will captain the squad playing at number 8 alongside Ulster man Chris Henry who will be starting on the open-side following his heroic display off the bench against France.

Jordi Murphy will be starting on the blind-side while Iain Henderson and Devin Toner partnering up in the second-row.  

Cian Healy, Rory Best and Mike Ross make up the front row.

Johnny Sexton has managed to shake off any injury or fitness concerns to start at number 10 with Conor Murray at scrum half.

Robbie Henshaw will be partnered once again by Ireland’s top World Cup try scorer Keith Earls with Schmidt keeping Luke Fitzgerald in reserve.

Dave Kearney and Tommy Bowe will remain on the wings with Rob Kearney donning the number 15 jersey once again.

Ireland squad to face Argentina

15. Rob Kearney, 14. Tommy Bowe, 13. Keith Earls, 12. Robbie Henshaw, 11. Dave Kearney, 10. Johnny Sexton, 9. Conor Murray, 1. Cian Healy, 2. Rory Best, 3. Mike Ross, 4. Iain Henderson, 5. Devan Toner, 6. Jordie Murphy, 7. Chris Henry, 8. Jamie Heaslip.

Reps:R Strauss, J McGrath,N White, D Ryan, R Ruddock, E Reddan, I Madigan, L Fitzgerald.

The starting Argentina squad has also been named.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *